68th Annual National Jewish Book Awards Dinner and Ceremony (3/5/2019)

Share with your friend

    Friend’s name: *

    Friend’s email: *

    Your name: *

    Your email: *

    Subject: *


    CAPTCHA: captcha

    Join us at our biggest literary event of the year, held annually since 1950, as we celebrate the finest Jewish literature of 2018 and toast our award-winning authors.

    The host for the 2019 celebration dinner honoring our 2018 winners is Stephanie Butnick, host of Tablet’s Unorthodox podcast.

    The National Jewish Book Awards is the longest-running Jewish book awards program in North America and is recognized as the most prestigious. The awards, presented by category, are designed to give recognition to outstanding books, to stimulate writers to further literary creativity, and to encourage the reading of worthwhile titles. Jewish books are critical to our survival as an educated Jewish people.

    This year’s winners include:

    • Hunting the Truth: Memoirs of Beate and Serge Klarsfeld by Beate and Serge Klarsfeld, translated from the French by Sam Taylor (Farrar, Straus and Giroux) – Everett Family Foundation Book of the Year Award
    • Susan Shapiro – Mentorship Award in Honor of Carolyn Starman Hessel
    • The New American Judaism: How Jews Practice Their Religion Today by Jack Wertheimer (Princeton University Press) – Celebrate 350 Award in American Jewish Studies
    • My Country, My Life: Fighting for Israel, Searching for Peace by Ehud Barak (St. Martin’s Press) – Autobiography/Memoir Krauss Family Award in Memory of Simon & Shulamith (Sofi) Goldberg
    • Witness: Lessons from Elie Wiesel’s Classroom by Ariel Burger (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) – Biography Award in Memory of Sara Berenson Stone
    • The Girl from Berlin by Ronald Balson (St. Martin’s Press) – The Miller Family Book Club Award in Memory of Helen Dunn Weinstein and June Keit Miller
    • All Three Stooges by Erica Perl (Knopf Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books) – Children’s Literature
    • The Going: A Meditation on Jewish Law by Leon Wiener Dow (Palgrave Macmillan) – Contemporary Jewish Life and Practice Award in Memory of Myra H. Kraft
    • The Book of Dirt by Bram Presser (Text Publishing) – Goldberg Prize for Debut Fiction
    • The Talmud: A Biography by Barry Scott Wimpfheimer (Princeton University Press) – Jewish Education and Identity Award in Memory of Dorothy Kripke
    • The Last Watchman of Old Cairo by Michael David Lukas (Spiegel & Grau) – JJ Greenberg Memorial Award for Fiction
    • Rise and Kill First: The Secret History of Israel’s Targeted Assassinations by Ronen Bergman (Random House) – Gerrard and Ella Berman Memorial Award in History
    • Anatomy of a Genocide: The Life and Death of a Town Called Buczacz by Omer Bartov (Simon & Schuster) – Holocaust Award in Memory of Ernest W. Michel
    • Does Judaism Condone Violence? Holiness and Ethics in the Jewish Tradition by Alan L. Mittleman (Princeton University Press) – Modern Jewish Thought and Experience Dorot Foundation Award in Memory of Joy Ungerleider Mayerson
    • Holy Moly Carry Me by Erika Meitner (BOA Editions, LTD) – Berru Poetry Award in Memory of Ruth and Bernie Weinflash
    • Historical Atlas of Hasidism by Marcin Wodziński with cartography by Waldemar Spallek (Princeton University Press) – Nahum M. Sarna Memorial Award in Scholarship
    • Dominion Built of Praise: Panegyric and Legitimacy Among Jews in the Medieval Mediterranean by Jonathan Decter (University of Pennsylvania Press) – Mimi S. Frank Sephardic Culture Award in Memory of Becky Levy
    • Never a Native by Alice Shalvi (Halban Publishers) – Barbara Dobkin Award in Women’s Studies
    • Rescue Board: The Untold Story of America’s Efforts to Save the Jews of Europe by Rebecca Erbelding (Penguin Random House – Doubleday) – The JDC-Herbert Katzki Award for Writing Based on Archival Material

    Through the National Jewish Book Awards and its many other programs, Jewish Book Councils aims to encourage the writing of Jewish literature, connect readers to Jewish books, and create platforms and resources to discuss those works as in book clubs, salons, and as a larger community.

    Tickets to the celebration dinner can be purchased through February 21, 2019 and can also be purchased by calling 212-201-2920. Please note that there are a limited amount of tickets available for the dinner.

    Kindly consider a gift at the Patron or Benefactor level to help Jewish Book Council support Jewish authors and books and bring people together for meaningful discussions around Jewish life, identity, and culture through literature.

    Cocktail attire. Jewish dietary laws strictly observed.

    History: The National Jewish Book Awards program began in 1950, when the Jewish Book Council presented awards to authors of Jewish books at its annual meeting. Past notable literary winners include Chaim Grade, Deborah Lipstadt, Bernard Malamud, Michael Oren, Chaim Potok, Philip Roth, Elie Wiesel, Jonathan Safran Foer, Deborah Dash Moore, and Sandy Eisenberg Sasso.

    Jewish Book Council is a 501 (c) 3 organization. Your purchase supports its year-round efforts to educate and enrich the Jewish community through Jewish literature.

    Tue, March 5, 2019

    7:00 PM – 10:00 PM EST

    Add to Calendar


    Bohemian National Hall

    321 E. 73rd Street

    New York, NY 10021

    You must be logged in to post a comment Login